This week we had to read “Collaborative Writing in Composition Studies,” by Sheryl Fontaine and Susan M. Hunter. We had to answer the following questions, what are the different types of collaboration? What types of collaboration have you done before (for school, work, etc?)

         I learned that there were many different types of collaboration.  They talked about many types of collaboration that include dialogic, scaffolding, and hierarchical.  Scaffolding is where two people come together to create one larger project. Both partners need to work together at all times and share all their thoughts and ideas. This is a very important type of collaboration. I remember one semester having to present a project on ADHD and working with a partner. We had to plan and work together to finish our final piece.
          Dialogic collaboration is a little different, but still has similar features. This is where the group can individually work on parts and a discussion for other parts. There is a lot of discussion between partners in this type of collaboration. I have worked with this type of collaboration in one of my classes this semester. We have been working on a few projects with starting them in class, discussing with each other and then working individually at home. I don’t always enjoy this type of work because it can get confusing sometimes.
         Hierarchical collaboration is the type of collaboration I am most comfortable with.  A project is assigned, and a leader is assigned and then each member picks a different role. This is the type of collaboration most people see and use today. I use hierarchical collaboration I use at work and school on a daily basis. In school there are more times than not that I can remember grouping up and each choosing a role.
          In school and work I use the different types of collaboration on a daily basis. I enjoy hierarchical collaboration the most, simply because I think this is what I am most comfortable with. This type I see used all the time in my college classes and even at work. My co-teacher and I each plan lessons and then come together to create our master lesson plan.





Leave a Reply.