During class this week, we watched Food Inc. This was a very interesting and eye opening movie. The movie was broken down into chapters, each being a different problem in the food industry. My blog this week will be one three different questions and my responses.

Chapter Three: Unintended Consequences 
Q: 4. Kevin's mother says, "Sometimes it feels like industry was more protected than my son." What do you think of her words?

           I can’t even begin to explain how sad this story made me feel. Barbra Kowalyck and Patricia Buck had every right to stand up for Kevin and what happened to him. Who would have thought that eating a hamburger on vacation would kill their son. Within twelve days of eating the hamburger, Kevin died from e-coli. Hearing Barbra talk about how all Kevin wanted was a glass of water and she couldn’t even give it to her son broke my heart.
           The food industry was defiantly more protected than her son, which is disturbing. The food industry has business men with large amounts of money to back them up. The food industry could care less about anyone getting sick as long as it doesn’t hurt their business. The saddest part was that no one even apologized to the family. I think it’s very disturbing to know that while watching the movie made four years ago, the law had still not been passed.

Chapter Four: The Dollar Menu
Q: 9. Do you think healthy eating should be a right, a responsibility, or a privilege?

         Healthy eating should be a right, responsibility, but defiantly not a privilege. Healthy eating should be a right because every individual shoed have the choice to eat the foods they want to, whether it’s healthy or not. Everyone today has the right to do what they want and that includes choosing what they eat. Me personally, I try to eat as healthy as I possibly can but working and going to school full time doesn’t always allow me to.
          Healthy eating should be a responsibility because every individual is in charge of themselves and their actions. I take full responsibility for my eating habits and I know I should be eating healthier. I know there are choices I make that are not the best for me, but it is something that I personally need to work on, no one else.
        Personally I don’t believe healthy eating should be looked at as a privilege. When the word privilege is used, it sounds like only those who are wealthy can afford it. I think healthy eating should be available to everyone and anyone. I really enjoyed how in the movie they discussed how Wal-Mart is now carrying healthier and organic foods. Healthy eating should be available to everyone, not just “privileged” individuals who they think are wealthy and can afford it.

Chapter Nine: Shocks to the System
Q:16. If healthful, environmentally sustainable food were to cost less than other food, do you think people would eat more of it? Why do you think that?

            If healthy food were to cost less, I still feel as if it would depend on the person on whether or not they would eat more of it. If healthier options were cheaper, I would hope to say more people would choose fruit and vegetables. But there are still many people out there who prefer cookies and chips. I know I try to eat more fruits and vegetables that junk food but it doesn’t always happen. Like I said before being a full time student and working full time, there have been many days were I had to pick up something to eat while driving. There are many people that also do not care at all about the foods they eat. I honestly don’t know how much it would change from today is healthier food were to be cheaper. Yes, I believe the people who already buying the healthier options will buy more but there are still many people who don’t care.




Leave a Reply.